Agenda: The situation in South Sudan and the status of the UNMISS.

The United Nations Security Council is a 15-member council and the primary peacekeeping organ of the United Nations. The UNSC works to diffuse acts of aggression and threats to international peace. It is the only body of the UN with the power to pass legally binding resolutions. In other words, in the process of joining the United Nations, member states legally agree to carry out the resolutions passed by the UNSC, failing which they are usually met with punitive measures, which include, the investigation of the issue, recommendations for peaceful settlements, calling upon member states to enforce economic sanctions, sever diplomatic relations, and as a last resort, the use of military force with the deployment of peacekeeping missions. It is also the only arm of the UN where 5 member nations have veto power regarding the committee’s resolutions and are permanent members. The 10 other members are elected by the General Assembly for 2-year terms, with regard to their contribution to the maintenance of international peace and equitable geographical distribution. As the single most powerful entity of the United Nations the Security Council holds the responsibility for determining and addressing all issues threatening international peace and security.


Executive Board

Gowtham Srinivas

UNSC Chariperson

Adithiyha SK

UNSC Vice Chairperson